Shared decision-making is a joint planning and problem solving process that provides stakeholders a voice in decisions that affect student success and the school environment in accordance with LACOE Board Policy 2250.

The Shared Decision-Making Council (SDMC) is composed of representatives of LACEA teachers, school administration, SEIU, the Parent Council, student leadership, and senior program specialists. As such, it is the only committee that represents the entire LACHSA community.



The SDMC meets once a month to address issues falling within its scope of authority:

  1. Decision-making on some budgets (lottery, grants, discretionary funds, staff development)

  2. Decision-making on some staff development activities, to be aligned with schoolwide goals

  3. Input on the staff selection process

  4. Input on calendar

  5. Input on the selection of administrative designees

  6. Decision-making on individual faculty/staff professional development

  7. Prioritizing stakeholders' concerns and giving feedback to the leadership team

SDMC Membership:

Nick Abruzzo - Accountant, Math Teacher

Ray Alcala - Chair, Physical Education Teacher

Jessica De La O, English Teacher

Jonathan Dhauw, Community Outreach Associate

Maral Donoyan, Parent Association

Julian Grubman, ASB Representative

John Lawler, Principal

Liclia Hill, Language Teacher

Barry Markowitz, Visual Arts Co-Chair

Drew McClellan, Cinematic Arts Chair

Barry Pohlmann, English Teacher

Emily Rogers, Language Teacher




Instructional Leadership Team (ILT) is a decision-making body that meets weekly to guide LACHSA's Academic programs.


ILT Membership:

Ray Alcala

John Freeman

Lois Hunter

John Lawler

Irene Liu

Barry Pohlmann

Emily Rogers

Bea Rulli

Natalie Spevak

Myriam VanZeebroeck



The Arts Team represents the heads of each of the six arts departments: music, dance, theatre, visual arts, film, and musical theatre and other key personnel. This team meets weekly to discuss arts departmental collaboration and coordination, school-wide arts policy, budget and program considerations, and a host of other important matters that affect the arts programs.


Arts Team Membership:

John Lawler, Principal

Natalie Spevak, Assistant Principal

Tina Vartanian, Assistant Principal

Michael Christ Powers, Music Chair

Lois Hunter, Theatre Chair

Liz Young, Visual Arts Co-Chair

Cynthia Morales, Dance Chair

Drew McClellan, Cinematic Arts Chair

Erica Robson, Musical Theatre Chair

Jonathan Dhauw, Communications & Outreach

Zakk Eginton, Technical Director

Felicia Cain, Admissions Coordinator




The Student Support Team is a committee comprised of the assistant principal, academic counselors and school psychologist and Resource Specialist. This team convenes weekly to proactively address support for students who are facing academic, personal, behavioral, disciplinary, and other challenges to their success at LACHSA. Additionally, this team does not serve as a policy-making entity, but serves to advise both the administration and SDMC on issues regarding policies and procedures that affect student progress.


SST Membership:

Princess Broussard, Counselor

Marion Candia, School Psychologist

Irma Di Lullo: Counselor 

Lowell Goodsell, Resource Specialist 

Diana Pawar, Resource Specialist 

Natalie Spevak, Assistant Principal 

Tina Vartanian, Assistant Principal

Rachel Ward, Therapist




Our faculty understands the importance of continuous improvement in our practice as educators in order to ensure the best outcomes for our students. To this end, we have undertaken an intentional and rigorous formalized professional development structure through which to carry out this important work.

Our faculty meets each Friday before the start of school for students to focus on the educational practices that are proven to improve student achievement. This ongoing work is achieved by an intense focus on instruction, curriculum, and assessment. With our school-wide goals as our lens our faculty tackles important issues in the teaching and learning process.




By February 1 of each year, every school in California is required by state law to publish a School Accountability Report Card (SARC).The SARC contains information about the condition and performance of each California public school. Data reported in a Local Control and Accountability Plan is to be consistent with data reported in the SARC.




With the increased flexibility of the State of California’s new funding system, school districts are required to engage stakeholders, including parents, in developing a Local Control and Accountability Plan. This is a three-year plan focused on state and local priorities that describes goals, actions, services and expenditures to support student achievement.